And so it begins… Again. (AKA Roni Reviews: The Notebook)

Screw it.

I have nothing to hide.

Perhaps I do.  But my opinion of The Notebook is not one that needs to remain hidden.

I hated it.

But let’s go deeper.  Note:  There be spoilers below, me hearties.

While watching The Notebook, it became clear to me why it’s so popular among the lady folk.  It’s obviously the fantasy of a certain portion (if not the majority) of women:  to have a man be instantly, unrevokably attracted to you.   Of course, it can’t all be roses, so there is the fighting.  But, some people want that visceral emotionality in a relationship, so perhaps even that cannot be seen as a negative in their relationship.  But there’s still more.  Women, apparently, as a generalized statement, seem to be willing to be in relationships, even if their heart isn’t really in it.  Before we go further, men are not guiltless of this in real life or the movie.  Noah sees the war widow, just to have someone to lay next to.  Allie’s real level of love for James Marsden’s character is arguable, considering the fact that she thinks about Noah when she agrees to the new guy’s proposal.

Allie bides her time until her real love shows back up.  What if he didn’t?  Probably would have stayed with the marriage, I guess.  But did Allie ever *really* try to find Noah?  No.  She doesn’t seek him out in any way shape or form.  Instead of taking thinking about him as she was being proposed to by another man as a sign that she wasn’t really over Noah, she proceeded with her wedding plans, anyway.  The lack of effort really aggravates me.  To have such strong feelings and to ignore them and to do nothing about them does not say much about a person, in my estimation.

I’ve railed on the women.  What about the men?  Noah keeps busy, at least.  But does he try to have any new social ties?  No.  I don’t even recall it being explained how he met the war widow, but it certainly doesn’t seem like he’s really trying to make a life for himself.  Not exactly a healthy decision.  And James Marsden’s character is insightful enough to see Allie’s rebellious relationship with her parents, only to ignore it.

Allie seems to go with any guy that pushes hard enough.  What ever happened to saying no and meaning it?  Hard to believe that they didn’t add bodice-ripping to the plot.  And does she have anything in common with either of her suitors?  Only the chemistry of devotion, which goes back to the whole fantasy that I ascribe to the movie.

I could continue with how I felt the dialogue was crap, too, but I think I’ve made my point.

I believe that I know this subsection of women well enough to understand why they like it.  And I accept that, even if I don’t agree.  The girl is generic enough for a girl to be able to put herself in the position.  Actually, everyone is pretty much generic enough to put whomever they’d like in as a vicarious life.

But what fantasies of romance does this give a guy?  Waiting and waiting for a neurotic girl to show back up and wiffle-waffle before agreeing to be with you?  Sounds more like torture than fantasy, to me.

Why in the world would any *guy* like this movie?  Please.  Enlighten me.

Roni

Leave a Reply

