Watchmen (Pre-Viewing)

I have been surprised at the voracious opinions that people have had regarding Watchmen.

Sean won’t see it, having no interest in seeing something that, as far as he’s concerned, should have never been changed from the format that it was made for.

His brother, Ryan, while potentially agreeing, is willing and ready to see it, curious, but not expecting the world.

My brother and mother have seen it.  My mother loved it.  My brother liked it.  Both, I do not trust in this regard, as they also really liked the latest Indiana Jones.

And across my spectrum of Facebook friends, I’ve glanced at one that has notified that he’s seen it twice already.  A female friend from high school was surprised that there wasn’t more action and seemed to have an overall dislike.

From what I’ve seen of reviewers, a lot have said that it’s too long and too fanboy.  Roger Ebert says good things, so do a few others.

So where does this leave me?

I really liked the teasers.  Then I started seeing clips with actual acting and was severely underwhelmed.

I’ll be seeing it on IMAX on Thursday, along with Alec and a few others.  My expectations aren’t too high.  Generally, where there are polar opposites, I tend to find myself in the middle.  We’ll see if Watchmen is any different.  As long as it isn’t as boring as Benjamin Button, I’ll get by.

Update:  Alec Johnson and I have our take on Watchmen on Roni, On Location on iTunes (and the episode is here.)

3 Responses to Watchmen (Pre-Viewing)

  1. Jeremy says:

    Clipping your toenails is more exciting than BButton. I’m curious to see what you think. I’m on the fence about whether I want to go to the theater or just wait for DVD.

  2. roniweiss says:

    Have you read it?

    I could/should have mentioned that I read it, but it seemed a bit superfluous.

  3. Jeremy says:

    Nope, never read it.

Leave a Reply

