Roni Weiss, Chile Celebrity (Cont.)

Chilean flag

Chilean flag

As I am on one side of the world, I am famous on the other.

Last night, I was on “Contacto”, a show that is comparable to Dateline or some such in the US.  Why?  For the whole taxi debacle, in which I paid almost $200 for a taxi, due to a lot of extenuating circumstances.
I contacted the police, who weren’t able to do much.  The 1st prosecutor did nothing, so I contacted the media and then went out on an investigation.  Many months later, it was broadcast on Canal 13.
As I logged on to all of my usual sites, I saw I had a smattering of new friend requests on Facebook, as well as messages.
When I looked over on my IM programs to see who was online to talk to about it, I saw “pobre Roni!!!” as someone’s MSN status.
It’s been interesting.

Last night, I was on Contacto, a show that is comparable to Dateline or some such in the US.  Why?  For the whole taxi debacle, in which I paid almost $200 for a taxi, due to a lot of extenuating circumstances.

I contacted the police, who weren’t able to do much.  The 1st prosecutor did nothing, so I contacted the media and then went out on an investigation.  Many months later, it was broadcast on Canal 13.

As I logged on to all of my usual sites, I saw I had a smattering of new friend requests on Facebook, as well as messages.

Some examples:

HOLA EN ESTE MOMENTO ESTOY VIENDO UN PROGRAMA EN DONDE TU DISTE TU TESTIMONIO POR LA ESTAFA EN EL AEROPUERTO, QUIERO DARTE LAS GRACIAS POR MOSTRAR LO QUE PASA EN CHILE………..UN ABRAZO
ROSARIO…..

(Hi. At this moment, I’m watching a program where you said your testimonial of the airport con.  I want to say thanks for showing what happens in Chile.  A hug, Rosario.)

Te vi en la tele amigo fastidiando a esos taxistas xD muy divertido

(I saw you on TV, defeating those taxi drivers.  Very entertaining.)

And messages from friends, too:

Great Roni!!!
I just saw ‘Contacto’
You did a great thing for all of us, Chileans or not, so just congratulations!!!

Cariños.

When I looked over on my IM programs to see who was online to talk to about it, I saw “pobre Roni!!!” as someone’s MSN status.

It’s been interesting.

And if you haven’t seen the article with the picture of me in the newspaper, holding a mote con huesillo (not a beer), you can check it out here.

Leave a Reply

