The Future Is Now (AKA “Roni Gets Google Wave”)

200px-Googlewave.svg

Ha ha.  I have Google Wave.

That being said, I have no idea what to do with it.

Kinda like Google Voice before it, I feel like it’s geared for a totally different demographic than the one that I represent.

As far as Google Voice, I basically just use it as voicemail for when I’m abroad, which seems to be a fairly limited usage.

Thus far, I’m confused as to what Google Wave does that is so much better than an e-mail.  It has some bells and whistles that seem cute, but not really an e-mail killer.

I guess I should explain a little about what I do understand thus far to the undoctrinated.

  • Google Wave was designed with the concept of “what if the idea for e-mail was created today, instead of decades ago.”
  • One of the biggest points is that it isn’t a message that is copied to recipients.  There is only one copy of a wave and it can be edited by anyone with access therein (called “collaborators”, which is an unfortunate choice of words from the perspective of someone currently living in France), including “robots”, software that also is allowed access to change the wave and post it to blogs and Twitter and the like.
  • If people are editing it, you can see this happening real-time.
  • There is a playback button to see the history of how the wave has been changed by the Vichy–I mean, collaborators.
  • You can do a variety of things that you can’t do with just a normal e-mail, such as drag-and-drop files, have live surveys and what I found most laughable, real-time translation.  Perhaps it will work to some extent, but Google Translate is far from a Star Trek universal translator.

That’s what I’ve got, so far.  If anything blows my mind, I’ll definitely share.

Oh, and just so you know, the other piece of vocab you need to know is ‘blip’.  Waves are broken down into blips.  Any piece of a wave, whether text or maps or whatever else, is a blip.

Leave a Reply

