Looking out for the Big Man (AKA “My first e-mail to Obama”)

Dear Mr. President,

I am watching your discussion with the Senate Democratic Conference.

Are you sure that you are pronouncing ‘Beijing’ correctly?

I followed this during the Olympics and it seemed the consensus was that it should be a hard ‘j’ sound instead of a ‘zh’ sound.

Sincerely,

Roni Weiss


Sharon has already criticized me for this being along the lines of my tweets to/with celebs, but I defend this.

Potentially, mispronunciation by the President of the United States could cause a lack of respect in certain Chinese circles.  And one of the things that is most important to me is how America is seen in the world.

Do you agree? Disagree?

5 Responses to Looking out for the Big Man (AKA “My first e-mail to Obama”)

  1. Roni's Mom says:

    in terms of your criticizing Obama’s writers, michelle malkin has a term for the people who surround obama: Overeducated Achievatrons

    and on that note, to all you Roni-ite bloggers, wha do you think of this… http://michellemalkin.com/2010/01/05/david-brooks-tea-party-people-are-stupid-but-they-are-having-an-impact/

  2. roniweiss says:

    Dear Mother-of-mine,

    1) I wouldn’t say I was criticizing Obama’s writers. I wouldn’t call it a critique at all, just a friendly observation. After all, I would imagine this is the pronunciation by a vast majority of Americans, including myself before the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

    2) Michelle Malkin uses David Brooks’ (http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/05/opinion/05brooks.html?ref=opinion) poor points to make dishonest points of her own.

    I take special exception to her calling Obama a ‘phony’, as I believe he is quite open, honest and clear, as well as the term ‘incompetent’, as I’m not sure what she thinks a president can and should do in general and how Obama isn’t doing it.

    If needed, I can expound on how I see both Brooks and Malkin’s articles.

    Roni

  3. roniweiss says:

    Also, are you, of all people, really agreeing with the idea that someone can be ‘overeducated’?

  4. Roni's Mom says:

    I like the term overeducated achievatron – if for any other reason, it has a nice ring, and it’s almost poetic.

    To me, overeducated people are those who have studied much, but cannot problem solve, are arrogant, don’t ask the right questions, and/or don’t ask the right questions to the right people. Of course, all those are connected.

  5. roniweiss says:

    I can see someone who is being too immersed in academia to be accused of this. I don’t see it as a valid criticism for the Obama administration.

Leave a Reply

