PSA: Spokeo.com, Privacy’s Worst Nightmare

It is not very often that I get internet/tech info from my dad, but there’s a first time for everything.

This website displays your home street, even if you haven’t listed such a thing on Facebook, etc.

It also says your general age range and gender.

It isn’t always right.  Thought I was a chick.  Guess it has a 50/50 shot.

In any case, I highly recommend getting yourself off of a site that you probably didn’t even know you were on.

Steps to do so:

  1. Search for yourself on spokeo.com. Copy the link from the search results. (I don’t know if you necessarily have a “profile page”, but the search result link itself works, provided it has your name in the URL.)
  2. Go to the privacy page.
  3. Put that URL from #1 in and fill out the rest of your form.
  4. Go to the email address that you gave.
  5. Click the link in the email to finish the removal process.

The removal process worked for me, as I cannot see myself on there now.

I highly recommend you do this and pass this info on to others.  No need to snopes this, as your evidence is found right on spokeo.com

So, thanks again to my father.

6 Responses to PSA: Spokeo.com, Privacy’s Worst Nightmare

  1. roniweiss says:

    As a comparison, I put myself in on whitepages.com

    With my full name and WA state entered, it came up with me as a 26 year old from Edmonds, WA.

  2. roniweiss says:

    What a scam, too, as they have “teamed up” with reputationdefender.com, a website which you can pay to get your private info offline…

  3. One criticism of Spokeo is that much of the information about people is incorrect. They say they are working on their algorithms to make the info more accurate.

    http://www.skipease.com

  4. roniweiss says:

    That sounds even more worrisome, then.

  5. EC says:

    I’m pretty sure all this does is scour public records. This is nothing new. It has always been possible to do this kind of thing without the internet, and it’s also not the first site I’ve seen like it.

    And it thinks I’m married and living in a million-dollar home.

  6. roniweiss says:

    The fact that it was relatively accurate for me makes me stick to my warning.

    I keep hearing people talking about other sites like this, but no one has told me a site that lists an actual street address when you’ve put minimal information into the search.

Leave a Reply

