S2: Basque Country: Oñati and Bilbao

In the last of his Basque Country series, Roni has a typical restaurant meal in Oñati, heads off to Bilbao to see the Guggenheim Museum and allows his stupidity/cheapness to put him in a situation to beg a bus driver to pull over.

4 Responses to S2: Basque Country: Oñati and Bilbao

  1. Alec says:

    Nice video. I was at the Jay Pritzker Pavilion today (like the Bilboa Guggenheim designed by Gehry). A wonderful venue where I saw an orchestra perform the score to the Red Violin. I also remember once you were in Los Angeles and we stopped to meet my parents at the Walt Disney Concert Hall (designed by Gehry) and you live in Seattle where the Experience Music Project is located. You guessed it: also designed by Gehry. I think we should go beat up Frank Gehry – together. You know just to complete the circle.

  2. roniweiss says:

    Meaning that we have all been implicitly beat up by Gehry?

    I remember the WDCH night. It’s when the maitre d’ kept making weirdass jokes about there being a dress code and a long wait. And didn’t you jokingly bribe him with a dollar bill? Or was that me?

  3. Alec says:

    I believe it went something like this. Roni and Alec walk into an empty classy French restaurant.

    (To the waiter wearing a simple white collared shirt with no tie)
    A: Excuse me, what is the dress code here?
    W: Our dress code is black tie sir.
    (I look around confused because even he isn’t wearing a tie. I look at him again, he is smiling. He was joking.)
    R: Do we have to make reservations for tonight?
    W: I am sorry, sir we are fully booked.
    (Roni and Alec look around at an completely empty restaurant and realize that he is joking again)
    I quickly playing along reach into my pocket and grab a loose one dollar bill.
    A: You don’t understand. The reservation is for Mr. Washington. (I hold open the bill for him to see)
    W: In that case it looks like a table has just opened up.

    Later you were amazed that I happen to have randomly have a loose one dollar bill in my pocket. I always have loose bills because I always just stuff my change into my pocket instead of putting it a wallet like I am suppose to.

  4. roniweiss says:

    lol

    Wow, did you write that down or what?

Leave a Reply

