Steal their Seoul in South Korea

This verse (Part Two of Five) is probably my worst traversed in my Carmen Sandiego series.

Steal their Seoul in South Korea, make Antarctica cry Uncle,
From the Red Sea to Greenland they’ll be singing the blues,
Well they never Arkansas her steal the Mekong from the jungle,
Tell me where in the world is Carmen Sandiego?

Seoul = yes

You’ve heard it before: South Korea is at war. They’ve only signed a ceasefire with the South. As a foreigner who wasn’t hanging around too long, I didn’t feel it until I got to the DMZ.

Highlights: The DMZ is an unparalleled experience. Being stared down by North Korean soldiers with South Korean soldiers in bizarre, half-exposed stances is very cool.

Check out the North Korean solider (background)

Half-exposed stance (soldier on right)

Standing on the border of the two Koreas

Lowlights: You know a trip has gone fairly well when the worst thing you can point to is missing your train and then having to sleep in a bed with two girls.

Antartica = no

I see no point in spending thousands of dollars to go to a nature place on my own, even if it is the only continent that I have yet to visit.

Red Sea = no

Having never been to:

  • Eastern shore:
    • Saudi Arabia
    • Yemen
  • Northern shore:
    • Egypt
    • Jordan
  • Southern shore:
    • Djibouti
    • Eritrea
    • Somalia
  • Western shore:
    • Egypt
    • Eritrea
    • Sudan

Or that far south in Israel, I’ve yet to go.

Greenland = no, but qualified

Greenland isn’t actually a country yet. It’s a constituent country of Denmark, which I’ve been to.

Arkansas = yes

On my road trip with Tav, we were in Jonesboro, AK. He talked on his cell phone. I tried to find us a host to stay with. We ended up finding someone in Memphis.

Highlights: Stealing Wifi outside of a hotel. Running in to use the bathroom at the same hotel. Not so much highlights as all that I did in Arkansas.

Lowlights: Having to deal with Tav being really excited about the sign for a tiny town with a stupid name. (Boogerville? Something like that.)

Mekong = just barely missed it

I must have been close, as it is very close to Ho Chi Minh City, the capital of Vietnam (formerly Saigon), where I was for New Year’s 2008, running into a Maltese guy that I met once on a train in SE Europe.

Dialogue upon seeing each other: "Thomas Laporto." "Roni Weiss."

All pictures can be found at http://flickr.com/roniweiss

(Continued in Part Three: “Nashville to Norway“)

Leave a Reply

